ILLINOIS: Click this link to see all slave labor sites in the state.

  • Statehood: 1818; some counties were established before Illinois became a state
  • COUNTIES: Click one of the counties below to see all plantations/ workplaces in that county.
County Year Est. Details
Adams 1825 from Pike County
Alexander 1819 from Union County
Bond 1817 from Crawford County, Edwards County, and Madison counties
Boone 1837 from Winnebago County
Brown 1839 from Schuyler County
Bureau 1837 from Putnam County
Calhoun 1825 from Pike County
Carroll 1839 from Jo Daviess
Cass 1837 from Morgan County
Champaign 1833 from Vermilion County
Christian 1839 from Sangamon County
Clark 1819 from Crawford County
Clay 1824 from Wayne, Lawrence, Fayette, and Crawford counties
Clinton 1824 from Washington, Bond, and Fayette counties
Coles 1830 from Clark and Edgar counties
Cook 1831 from Putnam County
Crawford 1816 from Edwards County
Cumberland 1843 from Coles County
DeKalb 1837 from Kane County
DeWitt 1839 from Macon and McLean counties
Douglas 1859 from Coles County
DuPage 1839 from Cook County
Edgar 1823 from Clark County
Edwards 1814 from Gallatin County and Madison counties
Effingham 1831 from Fayette and Crawford counties
Fayette 1821 from Bond, Wayne, Clark, Jefferson, and Crawford counties
Ford 1859 from Vermilion County
Franklin 1818 from White County and Gallatin counties
Fulton 1823 from Pike County
Gallatin 1812 from Randolph County
Greene 1821 from Madison County
Grundy 1841 from LaSalle County
Hamilton 1821 from White County
Hancock 1825 from Adams County
Hardin 1839 from Pope County
Henderson 1841 from Warren County
Henry 1825 from Fulton County
Iroquois 1833 from Vermilion County
Jackson 1816 from Randolph County and Johnson counties
Jasper 1831 from Clay and Crawford counties
Jefferson 1819 from Edwards and White counties
Jersey 1839 from Greene County
Jo Daviess 1827 from Henry, Mercer, and Putnam counties
Johnson 1812 from Randolph County
Kane 1836 from LaSalle County
Kankakee 1853 from Iroquois and Will counties
Kendall 1841 from LaSalle and Kane counties
Knox 1825 from Fulton County
Lake 1839 from McHenry County
LaSalle 1831 from Putnam and Tazewell counties
Lawrence 1821 from Crawford and Edwards counties
Lee 1839 from Ogle County
Livingston 1837 from LaSalle and McLean counties
Logan 1839 from Sangamon County
Macon 1829 from Shelby County
Macoupin 1829 from Greene County
Madison 1812 from St. Clair County and Randolph counties
Marion 1823 from Fayette and Jefferson counties
Marshall 1839 from Putnam County
Mason 1841 from Tazewell and Menard counties
Massac 1843 from Pope and Johnson counties
McDonough 1826 from Schuyler County
McHenry 1836 from Cook and LaSalle counties
McLean 1830 from Tazewell County
Menard 1839 from Sangamon County
Mercer 1825 from Schuyler County
Monroe 1816 from Randolph County and St. Clair counties
Montgomery 1821 from Bond and Madison counties
Morgan 1823 from Sangamon County
Moultrie 1843 from Shelby and Macon counties
Ogle 1836 from Jo Daviess
Peoria 1825 from Fulton County
Perry 1827 from Randolph and Jackson counties
Piatt 1841 from DeWitt and Macon County
Pike 1821 from Madison, Bond, and Clark counties
Pope 1816 from Gallatin and Johnson counties
Pulaski 1843 from Alexander and Johnson counties
Putnam 1825 from Fulton County
Randolph 1795 from St. Clair County
Richland 1841 from Clay and Lawrence counties
Rock Island 1831 from Jo Daviess County
Saline 1847 from Gallatin County
Sangamon 1821 from Madison and Bond counties
Schuyler 1825 from Pike and Fulton counties
Scott 1839 from Morgan County
Shelby 1827 from Fayette County
St. Clair 1790 from original two counties
Stark 1839 from Knox and Putnam counties
Stephenson 1837 from Jo Daviess and Winnebago counties
Tazewell 1827 from Sangamon County
Union 1818 from Johnson County
Vermilion 1826 from Edgar County
Wabash 1824 from Edwards County
Warren 1825 from Schuyler County
Washington 1818 from St. Clair County
Wayne 1819 from Edwards County
White 1815 from Gallatin County
Whiteside 1836 from Jo Daviess and Henry counties
Will 1836 from Cook and Iroquois counties
Williamson 1839 from Franklin County
Winnebago 1836 from Jo Daviess
Woodford 1841 from Tazewell and McLean counties