OKLAHOMA: all plantation/ workplaces in the state

  • Oklahoma became a State in 1907 (about 40 years after Emancipation). Prior to 1907, Oklahoma was designated “Indian Territory” by the U.S. government. Thousands of Native Americans were removed from their homelands in the southern states by several treaties and the Congressional Indian Removal Act of 1830.
  • NATIONS: Slave workplaces in the pre-statehood territory, first established ca. the 1830’s, are listed by Native American Nation below. The five nations legally abolished slavery in this territory after the Civil War (Krauthamer B. “Slavery,” The Encyclopedia of Oklahoma History and Culture, https://www.okhistory.org/publications/enc/entry.php?entry=SL003).
Nation Year Est. Details
Cherokee 1839 upon settling in Indian Territory after the Indian Removal Act of 1830
Chickasaw 1837-1856 resettlement among the Choctaws mandated by the Treaty of Doaksville; separated from the Choctaws to form their own government in 1856
Choctaw 1820-1830 resettlement from Mississippi mandated by the 1820 Treaty of Doak’s Stand; forced resettlement after the Indian Removal Act of 1830
Creek 1820-1840 formally Muscogee (Mvskoke); resettlement from the south to Oklahoma began in 1820; unified government formed in 1840
Seminole 1836