VIRGINIA: all plantation/ workplaces in the state

  • Statehood: 1788; some counties were established before Virginia became a state
  • COUNTIES: Click one of the counties below to see all plantations/ workplaces in that county.
County Year Est. Details
Accomack 1663 from Northampton County
Albemarle 1744 from Goochland County
Alexandria 1801 from DC abd Fairfax County, renamed Arlington County in 1920
Alleghany 1822 from Bath, Botetourt and Monroe (West Virginia) Counties
Amelia 1735 from Brunswick and Prince George Counties
Amherst 1761 from Albemarle County
Appomattox 1845 from Buckingham, Prince Edward, Charlotte and Campbell Counties
Augusta 1745 from Orange County
Bath 1791 from Augusta, Botetourt and Greebrier
Bedford 1754 from Lunenburg county
Bland 1861 from Giles, Tazwell and Wythe Counties
Botetourt 1770 from Augusta County
Brunswick 1732 from Prince George County
Buchanan 1858 from Tazwell and Russell Counties
Buckingham 1761 from Albemarle County
Campbell 1782 from Bedford County
Caroline 1728 from Essex, King and Queen and King William Counties
Carroll 1842 from Grayson County
Charles City 1634
Charlotte 1765 from Lunenburg County
Chesterfield 1749 from Henrico County
Clarke 1836 from Frederick County
Craig 1851 from Botetourt, Roanoke, Giles and Monroe Counties
Culpeper 1749 from Orange County
Cumberland 1749 from Goochland County
Dinwiddie 1752 from Prince George Couty
Elizabeth City 1634
Essex 1692 from old Rappahannock County
Fairfax 1742 from Prince William County
Fauquier 1759 from Prince William County
Floyd 1831 from Montgomery County
Fluvanna 1777 from Albemarle County
Franklin 1786 from Bedford and Henry Counties
Frederick 1743 from Orange County
City Of Fredericksburg 1721 from Essex, King William and King and Queen Counties
Giles 1806 from Montgomery, Tazwell and Monroe Counties
Gloucester 1651 from York County
Goochland 1728 from Henrico County
Grayson 1793 from Wythe County
Greene 1838 from Orange County
Greensville 1781 from Brunswick County
Halifax 1752 from Lunenburg County
Hanover 1721 from New Kent County
Henrico 1634
Henry 1777 from Pittsylvania County
Highland 1847 from Bath and Pendleton Counties
Isle Of Wight 1634 as Warrosquyoake County, renamed Isle of Wight in 1637
James City 1634
King And Queen 1691 from New Kent County
King George 1721 from Richmond County
King William 1702 from King and Queen County
Lancaster 1651 from Northumberland and York Counties
Lee 1793 from Russell County
Loudon 1757 from Fairfax County
Louisa 1742 from Hanover County
Lunenburg 1746 from Brunswick County
Madison 1793 from Culpeper County
Matthews 1791 from Gloucester
Mecklenburg 1765 from Lunenburg County
Middlesex 1699 from Lancaster County
Montgomery 1777 from Fincastle and Botetourt Counties
Nansemond Now City of Suffolk
Nelson 1808 from Amherst
New Kent 1654 from York County
Northampton 1634 as Accawmack County, renamed Northampton in 1642
Northumberland 1645 from Chickacoan District
Nottaway 1789 from Amelia County
Orange 1734 from Spotsylvania County
Page 1831 from Rockingham and Shenandoah
Patrick 1791 from Henry County
City Of Petersburg 1850 from Dinwiddie, Prince George and Chesterfield Counties
Pittsylvania 1767 from Halifax County
Powhattan 1777 from Cumberland County
Prince Edward 1754 from Amelia County
Prince George 1703 from Charles City County
Prince William 1731 from King George and Stafford Counties
Princess Anne 1691
Pulaski 1839 from Montgomery and Wythe Counties
Rappahannock 1833 from Culpepper County
City Of Richmond 1782 from Henrico County
Richmond 1692 from old Rappahannock County
Roanoke 1838 from Botetourt County
Rockbridge 1778 from Augusta and Botetourt Counties
Rockingham 1778 from Augusta County
Russell 1786 from Washington County
City Of Salem 1836 from Roanoke County
Scott 1814 from Lee, Russell and Washington Counties
Shenandoah 1772 as Dunmore County, from Frederick County, renamed Shenandoah in 1778
Smyth 1832 from Washington and Wythe Counties
Southampton 1749 from Isle of Wight County
Spotsylvania 1721 from Essex, King William, and King and Queen Counties
Stafford 1664 from Westmoreland County
Surry 1652 from James City County
Sussex 1754 from Surry County
Tazewell 1800 from Russell and Wythe Counties
Warren 1836 from Frederick and Shenandoah Counties
City Of Warwick 1634 currently City of Newport News
Washington 1777 from Fincastle County
Westmoreland 1653 from Northumberland County
Wise 1856 from Lee, Russell and Scott Counties
Wythe 1790 from Montgomery County
York 1634