KENTUCKY: Click this link to see all slave labor sites in the state.

  • Statehood: 1792; some counties were established before Kentucky became a state
  • COUNTIES: Click one of the counties below to see all plantations/ workplaces in that county.
County Year Est. Details
Adair 1802 from Green County
Allen 1815 from Barren and Warren counties
Anderson 1827 from Franklin, Washington, and Mercer counties
Ballard 1842 from Hickman and McCracken counties
Barren 1798 from Green and Warren counties
Bath 1811 from Montgomery County
Bell 1867 from Harlan and Knox counties
Boone 1798 from Campbell County
Bourbon 1785 from Fayette County
Boyd 1860 from Greenup, Carter, and Lawrence counties
Boyle 1842 from Lincoln and Mercer counties
Bracken 1796 from Mason and Campbell counties
Breathitt 1839 from Clay, Perry, and Estill counties
Breckinridge 1799 from Hardin County
Bullitt 1796 from Jefferson and Nelson counties
Butler 1810 from Logan and Ohio counties
Caldwell 1809 from Livingston County
Calloway 1822 from Hickman County
Campbell 1794 from Alexandria and Newport counties
Carlisle 1886 from Hickman County
Carroll 1838 from Gallatin, Trimble, and Henry counties
Carter 1838 from Greenup and Lawrence counties
Casey 1806 from Lincoln County
Christian 1796 from Logan County
Clark 1792 from Bourbon and Fayette counties
Clay 1807 from Madison, Floyd, and Knox counties
Clinton 1835 from Cumberland and Wayne counties
Crittenden 1842 from Livingston County
Cumberland 1798 from Green County
Daviess 1815 from Ohio County
Edmonson 1825 from Hart, Grayson, and Warren counties
Elliott 1869 from Morgan, Lawrence, and Carter counties
Estill 1808 from Clark and Madison counties
Fayette 1780 from Kentucky County
Fleming 1798 from Mason County
Floyd 1800 from Fleming, Montgomery, and Mason counties
Franklin 1794 from Mercer, Shelby, and Woodford counties
Fulton 1845 from Hickman County
Gallatin 1798 from Franklin and Shelby counties
Garrard 1796 from Madison, Lincoln, and Mercer counties
Grant 1820 from Pendleton County
Graves 1824 from Hickman County
Grayson 1810 from Hardin and Ohio counties
Green 1792 from Lincoln and Nelson counties
Greenup 1803 from Mason County
Hancock 1829 from Ohio, Breckinridge, and Daviess counties
Hardin 1792 from Nelson County
Harlan 1819 from Knox County
Harrison 1793 from Bourbon and Scott counties
Hart 1819 from Hardin and Barren counties
Henderson 1798 from Christian County
Henry 1798 from Shelby County
Hickman 1821 from Christian County
Hopkins 1806 from Henderson County
Jackson 1858 from Madison, Estill, Owsley, Clay, Laurel, and Rockcastle counties
Jefferson 1780 from Kentucky County
Jessamine 1798 from Fayette County
Johnson 1843 from Floyd, Lawrence, and Morgan counties
Kenton 1840 from Campbell County
Knott 1884 from Perry, Letcher, Floyd, and Breathitt counties
Knox 1799 from Lincoln County
LaRue 1843 from Hardin County
Laurel 1825 from Rockcastle, Clay, Knox, and Whitley counties
Lawrence 1821 from Greenup and Floyd counties
Lee 1870 from Breathitt, Estill, Owsley, and Wolfe counties
Leslie 1878 from Clay, Harlan, and Perry counties
Letcher 1842 from Perry and Harlan counties
Lewis 1806 from Mason County
Lincoln 1780 from Kentucky County
Livingston 1799 from Christian County
Logan 1792 from Lincoln County
Lyon 1854 from Caldwell County
Madison 1785 from Lincoln County
Magoffin 1860 from Floyd, Johnson, and Morgan counties
Marion 1834 from Washington County
Marshall 1842 from Calloway County
Martin 1870 from Floyd, Johnson, Pike, and Lawrence counties
Mason 1788 from Bourbon County
McCracken 1825 from Hickman County
McCreary 1912 from Pulaski, Wayne, Whitley counties
McLean 1854 from Daviess, Muhlenberg, and Ohio counties
Meade 1823 from Breckinridge and Hardin counties
Menifee 1869 from Bath, Montgomery, Morgan, Powell, and Wolfe counties
Mercer 1785 from Lincoln County
Metcalfe 1860 from Barren, Hart, Green, Adair, Cumberland, and Monroe counties
Monroe 1820 from Barren and Cumberland counties
Montgomery 1796 from Clark County
Morgan 1822 from Bath and Floyd counties
Muhlenberg 1798 from Christian and Logan counties
Nelson 1784 from Jefferson County
Nicholas 1799 from Mason and Bourbon counties
Ohio 1798 from Hardin County
Oldham 1823 from Henry, Jefferson, and Shelby counties
Owen 1819 from Franklin, Gallatin, and Scott counties
Owsley 1843 from Breathitt, Clay, and Estill counties
Pendleton 1798 from Campbell and Bracken counties
Perry 1820 from Floyd and Clay counties
Pike 1821 from Floyd County
Powell 1852 from Clark, Estill, and Montgomery counties
Pulaski 1798 from Green and Lincoln counties
Robertson 1867 from Bracken, Harrison, Mason, and Nicholas counties
Rockcastle 1810 from Lincoln, Madison, Knox, and Pulaski counties
Rowan 1856 from Fleming and Morgan counties
Russell 1825 from Adair, Wayne, and Cumberland counties
Scott 1792 from Woodford County
Shelby 1792 from Jefferson County
Simpson 1819 from Allen, Logan, and Warren counties
Spencer 1824 from Nelson, Shelby, and Bullitt counties
Taylor 1848 from Green County
Todd 1819 from Logan and Christian counties
Trigg 1820 from Christian and Caldwell counties
Trimble 1837 from Gallatin, Henry, and Oldham counties
Union 1811 from Henderson County
Warren 1796 from Logan County
Washington 1792 from Jefferson County
Wayne 1800 from Pulaski and Cumberland counties
Webster 1860 from Henderson, Hopkins, and Union counties
Whitley 1818 from Knox County
Wolfe 1860 from Breathitt, Owsley, and Powell counties
Woodford 1788 from Fayette County