MISSOURI: Click this link to see all slave labor sites in the state.

  • Statehood: 1821; some counties were established before Missouri became a state
  • COUNTIES: Click one of the counties below to see all plantations/ workplaces in that county.
County Year Est. Details
Adair 1841 from Macon County
Andrew 1841 from part of the Platte Purchase
Atchison 1843 from Holt County, part of the Platte Purchase
Audrain 1831 from Callaway, Monroe and Ralls counties
Barry 1835 from Greene County
Barton 1855 from Jasper County
Bates 1841 from Van Buren (now Cass) County
Benton 1835 from Pettis and Greene counties
Bollinger 1851 from Cape Girardeau, Madison, Stoddard, and Wayne counties
Boone 1820 from Howard County
Buchanan 1838 from part of the Platte Purchase
Butler 1849 from Wayne County
Caldwell 1836 from Ray County
Callaway 1821 from Boone, Howard, and Montgomery counties
Camden 1841 from Benton, Morgan, and Pulaski counties
Cape Girardeau 1812 one of the five original counties
Carroll 1833 from Ray County
Carter 1859 from Oregon, Reynolds, Ripley, and Shannon counties
Cass 1833 from Jackson County
Cedar 1845 from Dade and St. Clair counties
Chariton 1821 from Howard County
Christian 1859 from Greene, Taney and Webster counties
Clark 1836 from Lewis County
Clay 1822 from Ray County
Clinton 1833 from Clay County
Cole 1820 from Cooper County
Cooper 1818 from Howard County
Crawford 1829 from Gasconade County
Dade 1841 from Barry and Polk counties
Dallas 1841 from Polk County
Daviess 1836 from Ray County
DeKalb 1843 from Clinton County
Dent 1851 from Crawford and Shannon counties
Douglas 1857 from Ozark County
Dunklin 1843 from Stoddard County
Franklin 1818 from St. Louis County
Gasconade 1821 from Franklin County
Gentry 1841 from Clinton County
Greene 1833 from Crawford and Wayne counties
Grundy 1839 from Livingston County
Harrison 1843 from Daviess County
Henry 1834 from Lillard (now Lafayette) County
Hickory 1845 from Benton and Polk counties
Holt 1841 from Part of the Platte Purchase
Howard 1816 from St. Charles and St. Louis counties
Howell 1857 from Oregon County
Iron 1857 from Madison, Reynolds, St. Francois, Washington and Wayne counties
Jackson 1826 from Lillard (now Lafayette) County
Jasper 1841 from Barry County
Jefferson 1818 from St. Louis and Sainte Genevieve counties
Johnson 1834 from Lillard (now Lafayette) County
Knox 1843 from Scotland County
Laclede 1849 from Camden, Pulaski, and Wright counties
Lafayette 1821 from Cooper County
Lawrence 1843 from Barry and Dade counties
Lewis 1833 from Marion County
Lincoln 1818 from St. Charles County
Linn 1837 from Chariton County
Livingston 1837 from Carroll County
Macon 1837 from Chariton and Randolph counties
Madison 1818 from Cape Girardeau and Sainte Genevieve counties
Maries 1855 from Osage and Pulaski counties
Marion 1826 from Ralls County
McDonald 1847 from Newton County
Mercer 1845 from Grundy County
Miller 1837 from Cole and Pulaski counties
Mississippi 1842 from Scott County
Moniteau 1845 from Cole and Morgan counties
Monroe 1831 from Ralls County
Montgomery 1818 from St. Charles County
Morgan 1833 from Cooper County
New Madrid 1812 one of the five original counties
Newton 1838 from Barry County
Nodaway 1843 from Andrew County, the Platte Purchase
Oregon 1841 from Ripley County
Osage 1841 from Gasconade County
Ozark 1841 from Taney County
Pemiscot 1851 from New Madrid County
Perry 1821 from Sainte Genevieve County
Pettis 1833 from Cooper and Saline counties
Phelps 1857 from Crawford County
Pike 1818 from St. Charles County
Platte 1838 from Part of the Platte Purchase
Polk 1835 from Greene County
Pulaski 1833 from Crawford County
Putnam 1843 from Adair and Sullivan counties
Ralls 1821 from Pike County
Randolph 1829 from Chariton and Ralls counties
Ray 1820 from Howard County
Reynolds 1845 from Shannon County
Ripley 1831 from Wayne County
Saint Charles 1812 one of the five original counties
Saint Clair 1841 from Rives (now Henry) County
Saint Francois 1821 from Jefferson, Ste. Genevieve, and Washington counties
Saint Louis City 1876 from St. Louis County in 1876 when city residents voted to secede from the county
Saint Louis 1812 one of the five original counties
Saline 1820 from Cooper County
Schuyler 1843 from Adair County
Scotland 1841 from Clark, Lewis, and Shelby counties
Scott 1822 from New Madrid County
Shannon 1837 from Ripley County
Shelby 1835 from Marion County
Ste. Genevieve 1812 one of the five original counties
Stoddard 1835 from New Madrid County
Stone 1851 from Taney County
Sullivan 1843 from Linn County
Taney 1837 from Greene County
Texas 1843 from Shannon and Wright counties
Vernon 1851 from Bates County
Warren 1833 from Montgomery County
Washington 1813 from Sainte Genevieve County
Wayne 1818 from Cape Girardeau and Lawrence counties
Webster 1855 from Greene County
Worth 1861 from Gentry County
Wright 1841 from Pulaski County